Turn to Corley Legal A Team Who Will Fight For You

Harassment Defense Attorney in San Antonio

Effectively Defending You against All Charges of Harassment

Harassment is a serious offense under Texas State law that is charged as a misdemeanor. Nevertheless, conduct that triggers harassment charges can sometimes also be used to charge you with a felony. Harassment cases usually involve people who already know each other, particularly people who were once romantically involved with each other.

Definition of Harassment

Harassment is defined under Texas law as a communication that is designed to “harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, or embarrass” another person. It includes conduct such as falsely reporting the death of the person’s loved one, threatening bodily injury, making an obscene phone call, and similar conduct. It even includes knowingly allowing someone else to use your telephone for this purpose.

Many different forms of communication can trigger harassment charges, including electronic communication such as text messages and emails. A first offense is charged as a Class B misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. Repeat offenses will upgrade the charge to a Class A misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of a year in jail and a fine of $4,000.

Effect of Protective/Restraining Orders

If, at the time of the offense, you are under restrictions imposed by a protective order or a restraining order with respect to the complaining party, you could also be charged with violating the order.

Other Charges

If the prosecutor comes to believe that you engaged in repeated behavior that led someone to reasonably fear that you might seriously injure them, kill them, or damage their property, a harassment charge could be upgraded to a stalking charge.

Stalking is a felony in Texas and could result in up to 10 years in prison even for a first offense. You might also be charged with terroristic threat, a related charge that can result in incarceration of up to 180 days or up to 10 years, depending on the degree of seriousness of the offense.

Online Harassment

Texas has passed a special law regarding online impersonation. You can be charged with a third-degree felony for using someone else’s identity to post a web page or send messages through certain forms of digital media with the intent to defraud them or to harm them physically or psychologically. A third-degree felony is punishable by up to 10 years in prison in Texas, and 2 years is the statutory minimum sentence if prison time is imposed.

Other forms of online harassment that have been criminalized under this law include sending unauthorized messages through certain digital media in someone else’s name with the intent to defraud or harm. This offense is charged as a Class A misdemeanor with a penalty of up to a year in jail. If you have been charged with any type of harassment offense, you need an experienced harassment defense lawyer in San Antonio right away.

The Defense You Deserve

A harassment charge is a serious matter in Texas and, depending on the facts of your case, it could lead to additional or more serious charges. With a skilled attorney, however, you have options. At Corley Legal, our attorney is an experienced criminal defense attorney, and she is not afraid to confront the Texas justice system and aggressively cross-examine witnesses. If you are facing a harassment charge, call Corley Legal any time, day or night, at (210) 361-7322, and we will be happy to schedule a free consultation with you. Call now and speak with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney in San Antonio.

Experience the Corley Legal Difference

Call Today for a Free Case Evaluation
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please enter the county in which you were charged.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.